Catholic Blogs · Catholic Poetry · Free will · Young Adults

Sacred Heart of Jesus, I Trust in You

My soul is catching up but my heart is standing still.
My heart is being filled, but my hopes are still unreal.
My hopes are taunted by my nightmares,
But the unseen hand of God will be revealed.
Nothing can stand in the way of His plan-
Not my doubts, not my faults… He still cares.

Being laid off could not have come in more perfect timing. During this Lenten season our focus is called to be on Christ, His passion, death and resurrection. God is calling me into my passion through my death and restoration of the job He has planned for me. So I embrace this period in my life. It is a good time to refocus on God and find my next call.

One prayer I have been saying almost every day is Efficacious Novena to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. It is an extremely powerful prayer. It quotes scriptures that inspire faith in us that God will answer our prayers through grace.

During my last retreat, I felt a call during adoration to join an holy order (as a lay person) dedicated to Mary. The only one I found was Regnum Christi, an apostolic movement which shares the charism of the Legionaries of Christ.  A consecrated lady called me today to tell me their service retreat is next week. It starts Wednesday and goes to Saturday. I would not have been able to attend if I still had a job. God’s plan is becoming more clear; I can’t wait to see what He has in store through this experience.

It was a dangerous commitment for me to dedicate this year to trusting God… but I am so enthusiastic about all He is teaching me. He is forming me in my spirit and blessing me with virtues. I am blessed.

2 thoughts on “Sacred Heart of Jesus, I Trust in You

  1. Good post, Vanessa. You have a bright outlook on the tough situation of being unemployed. As someone who was unemployed for a stretch, I can empathize with you. Your outlook being prayer- and God-centric is wonderful. Keep it up!

  2. Vanessa, your Mom sent me this blog of yours. How beautiful!! You certainly are a mirror image of your Mom & her faith. Have a wonderfully blessed Easter, honey. Sincerely, Maryrose

Leave a Reply

