Catholic Blogs · Catholic Poetry · Poems · Teens · Young Adults

Even with scars, children love

I want to drown myself in Your Word, kiss my lips to your heart;
Drown in your mercy and love.

I want to run to Your arms, not thinking about the future;
Just live in the here and now.

I want to run away, distract myself…
But I know it’s not right.

So hold me when I’m moving, love me when I’m restless
So I can learn to rest in You.

I’ve noticed a pattern in myself. When I feel overwhelmed, instead of letting it pass, I run.

I don’t like physical runs, but I love emotional distractions.

When I left Vegas, I was running towards something good, but I was also running FROM unfinished emotions. Though I’ve made my peace with my past, I need practice embracing my emotions no matter the pain.

Pain is something that will keep coming to you until you learn to embrace it and dwell with it until it passes. When you push down emotions, they don’t go away, they just resurface. The less you distract yourself and the more you learn to embrace God through suffering, the stronger your trust will be.

Trust is the first to be violated when we are let down. It is our past hurts that hold us back. That is why the pure, new life of a child is a strong embrace of the Kingdom of heaven. When they have no scars on their heart, children openly find the joy in all circumstances… sometimes even with scars.

But Jesus said, “Let the children alone, and do not hinder them from coming to Me; for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these” (Matt 19:14).

Leave a Reply

