Memories of the Heart

Simply lovely– Your Face in all its ways.
Simply beautiful– Your breathe seeking my lungs
So exquisite your kiss and lips on my head.
So loving, my God. What do you want from my heart?

I lay here in silence unable to move.
My mind is racing; my heart beats for You.
You prompt my soul to rewind and let go
Of all the past pains and hurts.

We traveled through my life last night and I wanted to scream,
But every time I experienced what I didn’t want, we claimed Victory.
The Victory of the cross replaced my past and you covered my memory in a white veil.

When I look back, I no longer see what was real.
I see Your peace, Your love, our joy.
You were with me there;
Your angels shielded me in my worst moments.

You are my salvation.
You casts my sins as far as the east is from the west.
Then you showed me the work you completed with my heart.
Purer light I’ve never seen that the swords of light you shot through my heart as you held it in Your hands.

So peaceful, so wonderful!
My Healer, You are in me.
Completing this work every moment.
All memories you deal with for me.

Praise God! He is ready and willing to re-create our hearts and instill in us peace.

About Vanessa Grace

Vanessa Grace has been writing poetry since she was 13 years old. Since then, she has been awarded four editor choice awards from the International Library of Poetry and is published in multiple poetry collection books. Nobel House selected her work for publication and included one of her poems in the Favorite Memories collection between 2006 and 2007. Vanessa recently graduated with her masters in Theological Studies from the John Paul II Institute in Washington, D.C.; her undergraduate studies were in Journalism and Media Studies with an emphasis in Integrated Marketing Communications and a minor in Communication. Prior to moving to D.C., Vanessa completed an extensive Theology of the Body training course with Katrina Zeno, coordinator for the John Paul II Resource Center in Phoenix, AZ. She has served in youth and young adult ministry since 2005 and written for Lifeteen.com while interning for them in 2010. After converting to Catholicism as a teen, Vanessa served with Life Teen youth ministry programs for eight years. Through this site, Vanessa hopes her poetry will inspire others to find hope and healing through the grace of God. To contact the author, email vanessagrace33@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Blogs, Catholic Poetry, Inner Healings, Poems, Teens, Young Adults and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

