My Cocoon

I have changed because Grace has transformed me.

I’ve been blessed to fall in love with God all over again. This time was like no other. My current call is to be still and know that He is God. I am caught in a place where only transformation is possible. I will be stuck in this phase until it is complete. I know God can change my heart; change me, and I believe that is what He has planned for me.

Inside my cocoon, I cannot move
I’m caught between the ground and a tree
Hanging upside down, I cannot see clearly
I am only looking at what’s here

The sunlight shining through the veil of your love
You have wrapped me so tight, I know you are near

Breathe Your breath into me
Love me.

As I exhale, you transform my life
As my body shrinks, I feel you reshaping me
As my wings are formed, I must be-
Still, silent, sorrowful… for it hurts.

Everything hurts, but feels so good.
I know your light is transforming me
Let the spectrum of color be born in my cocoon;
From the inside, until I get out.

About Vanessa Grace

Vanessa Grace has been writing poetry since she was 13 years old. Since then, she has been awarded four editor choice awards from the International Library of Poetry and is published in multiple poetry collection books. Nobel House selected her work for publication and included one of her poems in the Favorite Memories collection between 2006 and 2007. Vanessa recently graduated with her masters in Theological Studies from the John Paul II Institute in Washington, D.C.; her undergraduate studies were in Journalism and Media Studies with an emphasis in Integrated Marketing Communications and a minor in Communication. Prior to moving to D.C., Vanessa completed an extensive Theology of the Body training course with Katrina Zeno, coordinator for the John Paul II Resource Center in Phoenix, AZ. She has served in youth and young adult ministry since 2005 and written for Lifeteen.com while interning for them in 2010. After converting to Catholicism as a teen, Vanessa served with Life Teen youth ministry programs for eight years. Through this site, Vanessa hopes her poetry will inspire others to find hope and healing through the grace of God. To contact the author, email vanessagrace33@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Blogs and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

