Dark Night of the Soul is a way of Purgation

I was reading the Dark Night of the Soul the other day and I was inspired by St. John of the Cross’ image to represent the process of purgation through contemplation. He used the analogy that God is a painter and man as the subject of His study. If we get up and distract ourselves with other things, we stop the process of re-creation. God is not just Creator in past tense; He is Creator still. If we allow Him to have His way with us in this life, we surrender to the purgation process now and we will be a new creation in Christ. As St. Paul says, “He who started a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus” (Phil 1:6).  This image of the Painter gazing at His creation and continuing the masterpiece inspired my poem below.

I sit, unable to move in Your presence for Your face is my delight
My lover’s eyes are upon me as He studies mine.
How can I waiver from Your touch?
Your hand caresses my face and I fall into Your embrace.

As I rest my head upon Your chest, I feel your Grace running through my veins, starting at my heart.
Like a waterfall You pour Yourself into me and cleanse me; the healing imparts.
There is nothing I  can do, but admire You.
Like a lover, You meet me face to face and I will never be the same.

About Vanessa Grace

Vanessa Grace has been writing poetry since she was 13 years old. Since then, she has been awarded four editor choice awards from the International Library of Poetry and is published in multiple poetry collection books. Nobel House selected her work for publication and included one of her poems in the Favorite Memories collection between 2006 and 2007. Vanessa recently graduated with her masters in Theological Studies from the John Paul II Institute in Washington, D.C.; her undergraduate studies were in Journalism and Media Studies with an emphasis in Integrated Marketing Communications and a minor in Communication. Prior to moving to D.C., Vanessa completed an extensive Theology of the Body training course with Katrina Zeno, coordinator for the John Paul II Resource Center in Phoenix, AZ. She has served in youth and young adult ministry since 2005 and written for Lifeteen.com while interning for them in 2010. After converting to Catholicism as a teen, Vanessa served with Life Teen youth ministry programs for eight years. Through this site, Vanessa hopes her poetry will inspire others to find hope and healing through the grace of God. To contact the author, email vanessagrace33@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Catholic Blogs, Catholic Poetry, Inner Healings, Poems and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

